What I Would Play in Modern

I don’t currently have a Modern deck built on Magic Online, but if I did it would be Melira Pod.  When I played Modern several months ago, I played Melira Pod.  The deck is super fun and full of answers to multiple decks in the format. Here’s a list compiled from winning MTGO decks:

Modern Melira Pod List

 

What a sweet deck. Tons of fun to play, lots of creatures and things going on here.

Let’s look at some of the stuff going on here. Mana creatures, infinite combos, general silliness all over the place!

Kitchen Finks/Murderous Redcap/Melira, Sylvok Outcast/Viscera Seer: The combo. You use Viscera Seer to sacrifice Finks/Redcap and Melira allows them to Persist without any -1/-1 counters. This leads to Redcap dealing infinite damage or Finks gaining infinite life. Fun times.

One thing I have noticed about these new Melira Pod decks is that they aren’t packed full of silver bullets. Cards like Ethersworn Canonist and Aven Mindcensor are relegated to the sideboard. This cuts down on the potential number of dead cards in game one and hopefully leads to higher win percentages.

The sideboard has some sweet cards but nothing out of the ordinary. I love Fracturing Gust against Affinity decks, and I personally am not going to drop the cash on Thoughtseizes, so Duress does its job just fine.

Good luck to everyone rocking Modern at Grand Prix Kansas City this weekend and remember to have fun while competing!

Leave a comment